Peel Family Mediation Service

Mandatory Information Program (MIP)

The Mandatory Information Program (session) is designed to help you understand how family law works, the options you have and how you might reduce the emotional and financial costs associated with separation or divorce. Presented by a lawyer and family mediator or parent educator, this 2 hour session will provide general legal information and will include the following:

  • The impact of separation on parents and children
  • Ways to reduce the emotional and financial costs of separation
  • Introduction to family law
  • Overview of the court process
  • Alternatives such as mediation, arbitration and collaborative family law

The free session also includes a short question and answer period and resource materials / referrals. Note: Sessions offer general legal information only and legal advice will NOT be provided. No two parties involved in the same dispute will attend the same session.

When and Where

The MIP is available free of charge to anyone who wishes to attend. It is mandatory for anyone who has started or been served with a family law court proceeding and for those who are not court could attend as well so that they can make informed decision. Mandatory Information Programs (MIPs) are available at family court locations across Ontario. The sessions are held on-site in the courthouse and at another site in the evening.

Seating is limited. Registration is required. Sessions will include litigants from the OCJ and the SCJ.

MIP evening sessions are offered twice a month from 6 to 8 p.m.

November & December 2017 Evening Schedule:

Tuesday, November 14

Tuesday, November 28

Monday, December 11

Tuesday, December 19


Brampton Mandatory Program Schedule - November & December 2017 from 3 to 5 p.m.

Wednesday, November 1 - Respondent

Thursday, November 2 - Applicant

Wednesday, November 8 - Respondent

Thursday, November 9 - Applicant

Wednesday, November 15 - Respondent

Thursday, November 16 - Applicant

Wednesday, November 22 - Respondent

Thursday, November 23 - Applicant

Wednesday, November 29 - Respondent

Thursday, November 30 - Applicant

Wednesday, December 6 - Respondent

Thursday, December 7 - Applicant

Wednesday, December 13 - Respondent

Thursday, December 14 - Applicant

Wednesday, December 20 - Respondent

Thursday, December 21 - Applicant


Orangeville MIP afternoon sessions take place twice a month from 2 to 4 p.m.

Orangeville November & December 2017 Afternoon Schedule:

Tuesday, November 14

Thursday, November 16

Tuesday, December 5

Thursday, December 7

Specific location provided upon registration.

For more information, registration or reschedule an assigned date, drop by to talk to our MIP coordinator at the FLIC office or call 905-453-7795.

Click here for additional MIP information from the Ministry of the Attorney General Family Justice Services.